Top

ThinkPad T410 and T410s Launch Review, Why we love the ThinkPad T410 and T410s, and why you should buy one!

January 6, 2010

The wait is over! The Lenovo ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s have been much anticipated by ThinkPad fans and we can tell you, it has been worth the wait. Equipped with the new Intel Dual-core, Core i5 and Core i7 processors from the i5-529M 2.4GHz to the 2.66GHz i7-620M for the ThinkPad T410 and with a choice of i5-529M 2.4GHz or 2.53GHz i5-540M for the ThinkPad T410s, performance is outstanding.

<– Shop for your ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s Now!

With a base price of $999 for the ThinkPad T410 and $1399 for the ThinkPad T410s they are also priced lower than current models.

In addition the ThinkPad T410s has now been given the option of Nvidia switchable Discrete Graphics with 512 MB of VRAM to improve graphical performance, something was which was slightly lacking in the ThinkPad T400s.

Visually the new ThinkPad T410 and T410s are similar to the models they precede, the main difference of course being under the skin due to the Calpella architecture. And its the new architecture that has made such a discernable difference to the overall performance of the new T Series.

Design changes are subtle, keeping the ‘Classic’ ThinkPad look and feel and apply mainly to the keyboard, touchpad and function buttons. Both notebooks have the new ThinkPad style flush fitting multi-touch TouchPad. The keyboard is excellent and doesn’t display any of the flex associated with the launch of the T400/T500 in the summer of 2008.

Both the ThinkPad T410 and the T410s support up to 6 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 (4 GB 1333 MHz + 2 GB 1067 MHz), or up to 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR4 (4 GB 1333 MHz x 2) memory and Hard Drive options range from 80 to 128 GB SSD drives or 160 GB up to a 500 GB (7200 RPM) Hard Drive

There are plenty of connectivity options with 4 USB, 1 being powered so that you can charge your mp3 player, phone, or use any USB peripheral that needs power. The powered USB is color coded yellow and is ‘always on’, even when the machine is in hibernate or sleep mode.

You will also find 1 eSATA, IEEE 1394a, VGA, Display Port, Combo Jack, Express Card 34 mm and 5-in-1 MMC Reader, Optional Contact or Contact-less Smart Card Reader.

Screen options for the ThinkPad T410 include a 14.1″ WXGA 1280×800 16:10 aspect, 200Nit and a 14.1″ WXGA+ with a resolution of 1440 x 900 16:10 aspect, 200 Nit The ThinkPad T410s is equipped with a choice of WXGA+ 1440 x 900 or  WXGA+ 1440 x 900 MultiTouch. What is surely going to please a lot of people is that 16:10 aspect ratio stays on the 14.1” screens for now! It is going to 16:9 however on the T510 and W510. We can almost hear the howls of protest from here!

The ThinkPad design team have made a great effort to improve communications with the ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s with a new 2 megapixel webcam, and integrated VIOP function keys, and an LED indicator added to the mute button.

ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s Specifications

Processors – Optional range of i5 and i7 processors as specified above

Operating System – Windows 7 (32 & 64 bit), Windows Vista Ultimate 32, Windows XP Professional

Display Resolution – ThinkPad T410s/T410: LED, 14.1 WXGA (1280×800) 16:10 aspect, 200 nit; WXGA+ (1440×900) 16:10, 200 nit

Memory – Up to 6 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 (4 GB 1333 MHz + 2 GB 1067 MHz), up to 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR4 (4 GB 1333 MHz x 2)

Hard Drive Options – 80GB or 128 GB SSD, 160 GB (5400/7200 RPM), 250 GB (5400/7200 RPM), 320 GB (5400/7200 RPM), 500 GB (7200 RPM) HDD

System Graphics – Intel integrated graphics and Nvidia NVS3100m discrete graphics – Switchable

Optical Drive -  9.5 mm CD/DVD drive with BluRay option

Audio and Sound – Combo 3.5mm audio jack and separate microphone and audio mute button, integrated Dual Array digital mics with noise and echo cancellation

Integrated Comms – Qualcomm Gobi, 2000 WWAN, Bluetooth, Intel WiFi Link 6200 2×2, 6300 3×3, Intel 2×2 6250 with WiMAX, ThinkPad WLAN Realtek 1×2, Intel 1000 b/g/n, support for Constant Connect

Connectivity – Ports and Slots, 4 USB (1 powered), 1 eSATA, IEEE 1394a, VGA, Display Port, Combo Jack, Express Card 34 mm and 5-in-1 MMC Reader, Optional Contact or Contact-less Smart Card Reader

Cameran – 2.0 megapixel camera low light camera

Weight            – Starting at 4.9 pounds with 4-cell battery

Dimensions     13.1″ x 9.4″ x 1″ – 1.25″

ThinkPad Keyboard – Ergonomically designed keyboard and multitouch touchpad flush with palm rest with newly designed wider left and right mouse buttons, VoIP Fn + F6 hot key and optimized positions of LEDs

Battery Life – Up to 22 hours with optional 9 cell slice and 9 cell battery on T410

Software Suite – Adobe Acrobat Reader, Microsoft Office Ready 2007, Microsoft Live Toolbar and Search, Roxio Creator, Intervideo WinDVD (DVD models only), Intervideo WinDVD Creator, McAfee Virus Scan Plus with 30 days virus definition updates, Creator Business Edition (combo models), Creator Business Edition with MYDVD (DVD Burner), PC Doctor diagnostics, Sun JRL, ThinkPad Utilities (Power Management and Presentation Director)

Traditional ThinkPad touches are all there with the red highlights on the left/right mouse keys, the Red TrackPoint, the incredibly versatile UltraBay, and of course the trade mark ThinkLight. If you’ve never experienced how useful this can be in low light conditions, you only have to use it once. I can’t count the number of times its drawn comments from fellow air travellers!

The new ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s are exactly what we expected on the outside, superb ThinkPad engineering, with a solid feel. They look and feel as if they have been machined out of a solid piece of black granite, with a few subtle design changes and improvements.

The real change however comes on the inside from the Calpella platform and the complete change in chip architecture which is designed to deliver energy savings thru lower power consumption which obviously delivers superior battery life. Calpella integrates the memory controller and PCI express controller giving enhanced performance and less bottlenecking,

Even the wireless chipset with adaptive snoozing automatically scales the radio down with a millisecond by millisecond power adjustment when data isn’t actively transmitting.

What does all this add up to for the new ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s? Superior performance, enhanced graphics capability, but perhaps the most important thing of all, greatly reduced power consumption. This of course means we can expect stellar battery life!

Combine the new 9 cell slice battery (bump battery) which sits underneath the 9 cell battery on the bottom of the notebook and the ThinkPad T410 will give you up to 22 hours without mains power!

There is no doubt that the ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s continue the long ThinkPad tradition of excellence in engineering, design and build quality.

What really stands out here is the way the Arrandale based mobile i5 and i7 processors and the promise of the new Calpella platform have been implemented and fully realized. Lenovo has done a superb job with the ThinkPad T410 and the ThinkPad T410s. If you want the best 14″ enterprise quality business laptop, depending on your budget, choose either and you won’t go wrong.

 

 

Comments

65 Responses to “ThinkPad T410 and T410s Launch Review, Why we love the ThinkPad T410 and T410s, and why you should buy one!”

  1. guy on January 6th, 2010 1:16 pm

    When is the ThinkPad X210 going to be launched? Any idea about its price?

  2. Fermion on January 6th, 2010 4:03 pm

    0. Great news and nice article, thanks!

    1. It would be very interesting to know whether the engineers of Intel and Lenovo were able to allow for “AUDIO OVER DISPLAYPORT”.
    I really want to purchase (my first) thinkpad but I can only do so, if the T410s does indeed provide audio over displayport.

    Should it not be possible with the integrated “Intel HD Graphics”, will it be with the optional discrete Nvidia graphics card?

    If the t410s allows for audio over displayport, does it support only stereo or full Dolby Digital / DTS (and if so which version).

    2. Does the T410s really provide the combo audio jack? If so, is it able to output S/PDIF or is it again only analog?

    I realize that it might be a little bit too much too ask for all this info but I really would appreciate if companies would actually provide detailed specifications for their products.

    (Background: I’m using the laptop for my daily work in the office + my private needs as a music jukebox / video box. For this it is important that I can plug it into my TV with a simple displayport->HDMI adapter without the hassle of additional cables. I was deeply confused by the fact that Lenovo didn’t explicitly state the fact that the current t400s models DO NOT allow for audio over displayport, especially so as they offer a Bluray-option.)

  3. Brandon on January 6th, 2010 11:30 pm

    Hi Ian,
    Does the displayport this time around support digital audio output? I know the previous generation only supported digital video due to what I think was a chipset limitation – Just wondering if the new calpella’s support it?

    Thanks!

  4. Ian Orford on January 7th, 2010 11:10 am

    Hi Brandon I will check with the ThinkPad Technical team this morning at CES and get back to you!

  5. JW on January 7th, 2010 1:44 pm

    I don’t see the switchable graphics on lenovo’s site for the T410s. Will this be a Q2 feature? Also, what is the estimated battery life with just the 6-cell on the T410s?

    Still ridiculous why they put a display port and not HDMI. I haven’t been in a conference that doesn’t have an LCD screen with built in speakers for the visual. Not many using projectors any more.

  6. Dave on January 14th, 2010 10:59 am

    Is it true that Lenovo has stopped selling the Thinkpad T410s, perhaps because of production problems? It no longer appears on their website after having previously said that it would take more than four weeks for the product to be delivered.

  7. Ian Orford on January 14th, 2010 3:25 pm

    No its not true Dave, they have just sold out of the first batch! I just wish they would be more informative on the site!

  8. Ian Orford on January 14th, 2010 3:34 pm

    We don’t see the switchable graphics either JW, should be released soon we hope. Battery life on the 6 cell for the T410s should be about 5.5 hours

  9. Ian Orford on January 14th, 2010 3:43 pm

    Hi Fermion, according to the ThinkPad engineer that I spoke to at CES, the T410s will not support Audio over display port, the port does support audio but you would need a dongle to split the signal. The T410s does have the combo audio jack. But we haven’t been able to confirm the output as yet

  10. Ian Orford on January 14th, 2010 3:44 pm

    Hi Guy, we have the launch date of the ThinkPad X201 for February and will be releasing a firmer date over the next few days. We have no idea as to price at the moment.

  11. Ian Orford on January 14th, 2010 3:52 pm

    Hi Brandon, apparently the chipset and DisplayPort DO support Audio, according to the engineer we spoke to at CES however, the challenge is still getting the audio signal out, it would need a dongle to split the video and audio signal. If that makes sense? We would love to hear other peoples comments on this topic

  12. Jeppe Jønch Andersen on January 14th, 2010 4:39 pm

    Any news about the audio/displayport issue?

  13. Jeppe Jønch Andersen on January 14th, 2010 4:56 pm

    Please disregard my comment before, my browser was not updated :-(

  14. Simon Karpen on January 14th, 2010 9:53 pm

    I’m really disappointed by the SSDs available. Most of the other big-name OEMs have 256GB units (generally Samsung-ish, like Lenovo’s 128) available, often along with Intel’s excellent 160GB units. Lenovo’s current offerings top out at a paltry 128GB… which means, at least in the short term, the only way to get a good configuration is to order with the minimum spinning disk, sell/give away/etc the disk, and put in a real SSD from a 3rd party source.

  15. ThinkPad T410s Review and Our Opinion « thinkpad on January 15th, 2010 12:54 pm

    [...] thinkpad [...]

  16. Hydn on January 16th, 2010 6:35 pm

    I don’t seee the 410s on the website yet. Only the new 410. When can we start purchasing the 410s?

  17. Ian Orford on January 19th, 2010 11:39 am

    Your guess is as good as ours Haydn, they have been on the site then disappeared again due to being sold out! Should be any time soon as of the 19th Jan!

  18. Ian Orford on January 19th, 2010 12:17 pm

    Thanks for your comment Simon. We will endeavor to get a comment from those in the know at Lenovo re the larger SSD’s available in the ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s

  19. aani on January 19th, 2010 3:39 pm

    I bought t410s when it was available earlier but not sure if it does have IEEE 1394a and removable media card reader since it only got one express card slot. How about LED back-lit display quality, is that improved from t61p or compared to their Y450?

  20. Simon Karpen on January 23rd, 2010 6:45 pm

    What’s really odd about the SSDs is that Lenovo themselves sell the ultimate upgraded SSD – a Toshiba 256GB self-encrypting unit, for “only” $799. http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/web/LenovoPortal/en_US/catalog.workflow:item.detail?GroupID=38&Code=43N3417&current-category-id=9B7E41BDCE704020B8E567C67D3FA082&ProductName=ThinkPad%20laptops

    You just can’t get it built into a system, despite most Thinkpads effectively being custom builds anyway.

  21. Fermion on January 24th, 2010 6:47 am

    Hi Ian,

    thanks for your research. I think when Brandon and I where asking about “Audio over DisplayPort” we were both primarily referring to the use of an DisplayPort->HDMI-adaptor. With one of those you can connect any DisplayPort-enabled device to your TV/projector.
    As the last generation notebooks with DisplayPort often didn’t support audio over DisplayPort, these adaptors would also only transfer video. I will arange for a HDMI-presentation at my local dealer to make sure, it works the way it is supposed to be, as this really is a mandatory requirement for me.

    To understand my second question, you should know, that I’m using a digital optical SP/DIF fibre connection between my audio receiver and my computer.
    As far as I understand, the “Combo-Jack” enables for a combination of Microphone-In and Headphone-Out. The question is, whether the Headphone-Out is simple analog stereo or digital multi-channel enabled. If the latter would be the case a cheap electro/optical-adaptor could provide the necessary optical SP/DIF-port for me. Again, I will try to find out at my local dealer, as I do not find the information on the lenovo website.

  22. Mike on January 27th, 2010 1:15 am

    I too am like many other Thinkpad fans am waiting for the 500 ssd/hd to be launched, my T60 is still doing ok with Vista installed, money is in the bank waiting for the “engineers” to get their act together, then I will be across to Wan Chi computer centre to get my new machine with W7 installed.

    hope they get it done this year.

  23. Mike on January 28th, 2010 8:14 am

    I too am like many other Thinkpad fans am waiting for the 500 ssd/hd to be launched, my T60 is still doing ok with Vista installed, money is in the bank waiting for the “engineers” to get their act together, then I will be across to Wan Chai computer centre to get my new machine with W7 installed.

  24. Ian Orford on January 30th, 2010 10:10 am

    Then you must be in Hong Kong Mike! Lucky you, some great prices over there. Hope you don’t have to wait to long for the 500 Gb SSD

  25. Beniamin on February 1st, 2010 3:39 am

    @ Fermion
    Which machine do you want to test, the T410?

    Would you mind to share your experiences with audio support over DSP-HDMI adapter?
    Appreciate that…

  26. Fermion on February 2nd, 2010 5:01 am

    @Beniamin
    I want to buy a T410s without Multitouch, so I’m going to test it on that machine (although I think that it will either work on all T510/T410/T410s or on none). Until now my dealer here in Germany only has the Multitouch-machines around (if any) and as it looks like it will be up to me to provide all the testing equipment, as the dealer doesn’t have the DisplayPort-HDMI-adaptor, nor the HDMI cable or a useable TV. So I have to bring everything.
    Nevertheless I’m willing to do it, once they receive the non-Multitouch T410s but I have no clue how long it may take.

    I still hope that Ian is able to get this information out of those engineers he knows. They really should know these kinds of things without further need of investigation.

    And then there’s still the chance that there will be a review of the machine that sheds some light on this topic.

    Of course it would be great if one of the first lucky T410/T410s owners could just test this with his setup at home. I think a HDMI-TV should be around most people’s home by now and I think the use case of having your movie collection with you and hooking it up to a given TV is quite obvious.

    I think it already becomes apparent, that this “Audio over DisplayPort” topic actually concerns quite a bunch of people. And the more we ask here and there, the more likely it is, that we get a definite answer.

  27. Benimin on February 9th, 2010 7:11 pm

    According to these sources it seems that finally AUDIO over DisplayPort – HDMI is supported…

    http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T510-Still-missing-audio-on-DisplayPort/m-p/202164

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/showpost.php?p=5856996&postcount=19

  28. Thinkpad Mike on February 11th, 2010 5:27 am

    Ian

    yes my shopping zone is HK, I actually live on the mainland in Dongguan City, I am always in HK looking around, I really appreciate your page, I am a beliver, I tried a Sony Viao about 2 years ago, that was the biggest mistake in my life, blue screen of death 2/3 times a day, I am back to thinkpads, will be with them for evermore, that’s while I will wait for the 500 gb/ssd

    thanks for all your help and assistance.

    Best wishes

    Thinkpad Mike

  29. Ian Orford on February 11th, 2010 1:17 pm

    Thanks Mike, keep us informed!

  30. Thomas on February 22nd, 2010 4:05 am

    I have upgraded a Lenovo ThinkPad 410 from it’s default Seagate Momentus 320GB 7200RPM to a new Intel X25-M 160GB SSD. I have posted some benchmarks and pictures here : http://system-log.com/?p=305

    A SSD really gives this new computer a nice boost!

  31. Thinkpad t410 Pink Laptops - The New Fashion Accessory For Women - thinkpad t410 on February 27th, 2010 1:40 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  32. Thinkpad t410 Why Notebook Computers are So Popular - thinkpad t410 on February 27th, 2010 1:41 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  33. Thinkpad t410 Why Choose A Rugged Laptop Computer? - thinkpad t410 on February 27th, 2010 1:41 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  34. Thinkpad t410 Laptop Review - From Environmental Standpoint - thinkpad t410 on February 27th, 2010 1:41 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  35. Thinkpad t410 Projector Rental in Canada, an Overview - thinkpad t410 on February 27th, 2010 1:41 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  36. Thinkpad t410 Why Notebook Computers are So Popular | thinkpad t410 on March 1st, 2010 2:12 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  37. Thinkpad t410 Why Choose A Rugged Laptop Computer? | thinkpad t410 on March 1st, 2010 2:12 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  38. Thinkpad t410 The Notebook Miracle | thinkpad t410 on March 1st, 2010 2:12 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  39. Thinkpad t410 Laptop Review - From Environmental Standpoint | thinkpad t410 on March 1st, 2010 2:12 pm

    [...] thinkpad t410 [...]

  40. ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s Review « I Study You on June 23rd, 2010 3:32 pm

    [...] a starting price of $999 for the ThinkPad T410 and $1399 for the ThinkPad T410s they’re also priced lower than present [...]

  41. ThinkPad X301 phaseed out, replaced by the T410s The King is dead, long live the King! | www.thinkpadtoday.com on July 20th, 2010 2:11 pm

    [...] are many more options available with the ThinkPad T410s that are absent from the X300-series, so don’t fear, ThinkPad fans; the changes implemented in [...]

  42. The best ThinkPad T410 Coupon Code offer this Summer - $615 Off! | www.thinkpadtoday.com on July 21st, 2010 11:51 pm

    [...] ThinkPad T410 Review. Equipped with the new Intel Dual-core, Core i5 and Core i7 processors from the i5-529M 2.4GHz to the 2.66GHz i7-620M for the ThinkPad T410, performance is outstanding. With a base price of $949 for the ThinkPad T410 and $829 for the Intel Core i3-370M ThinkPad T410i they are also priced lower than previous models and represent outstanding value. The ThinkPad T410 is the only 14″ notebook to consider for discerning business users. [...]

  43. ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s Review | iPad Dock on August 3rd, 2010 2:36 am

    [...] a base price of $999 for the ThinkPad T410 and $1399 for the ThinkPad T410s they are also priced less than existing T [...]

  44. ThinkPad T410 and T410s Launch Review « Kookeecraze's Blog on August 3rd, 2010 6:58 am

    [...] for more details! Lenovo ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410 [...]

  45. ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s Review on August 5th, 2010 4:06 pm

    [...] a base price tag of $999 for the ThinkPad T410 and $1399 for the ThinkPad T410s they’re also listed lower than existing [...]

  46. abcxyz on August 11th, 2010 7:14 am

    What’s the max battery life on the T410s?

  47. Ian Orford on August 11th, 2010 2:24 pm

    ThinkPad T410s battery life will obviously very depending on the model you choose. You should get between 4 1/2 to 6 hours with the 6 cell and up to 8 with the additional 3 cell UltraBay battery. With the usual caveats of course depending on what your doing, graphics intensity, processor speed etc

  48. Lenovo LVO CUSTOM TP X201 Stand on August 23rd, 2010 8:05 am

    [...] What really stands out here is the way the Arrandale based mobile i5 and i7 processors and the promise of the new Calpella platform have been implemented and fully realized. Lenovo has done a superb job with the …. Lenovo’s current offerings top out at a paltry 128GB… which means, at least in the short term, the only way to get a good configuration is to order with the minimum spinning disk, sell/give away/etc the disk, and put in a real SSD from a 3rd party source. …Read more… [...]

  49. Lenovo LVO CUSTOM TP T410S Reviews on August 23rd, 2010 8:44 pm

    [...] The wait is over! The Lenovo ThinkPad T410 and ThinkPad T410s have been much anticipated by ThinkPad fans and we can tell you, it has been worth the wait. … Lenovo’s current offerings top out at a paltry 128GB… which means, at least in the short term, the only way to get a good configuration is to order with the minimum spinning disk, sell/give away/etc the disk, and put in a real SSD from a 3rd party source. ThinkPad T410s Review and Our Opinion « thinkpad on January …Read more… [...]

  50. Lenovo LVO CUSTOM TP T410S Problems on August 23rd, 2010 8:48 pm

    [...] Is it true that Lenovo has stopped selling the Thinkpad T410s, perhaps because of production problems? It no longer appears on their website after having previously said that it would take more than four weeks for the product to be … Lenovo’s current offerings top out at a paltry 128GB… which means, at least in the short term, the only way to get a good configuration is to order with the minimum spinning disk, sell/give away/etc the disk, and put in a real SSD from a …Read more… [...]

  51. Save 35% - $615 Total ThinkPad T410 Coupon Code Savings! | www.thinkpadtoday.com on August 27th, 2010 10:18 am

    [...] ThinkPad T410 Review. Equipped with the new Intel Dual-core, Core i5 and Core i7 processors from the i5-529M 2.4GHz to the 2.66GHz i7-620M for the ThinkPad T410, performance is outstanding. With a base price of $949 for the ThinkPad T410 and $829 for the Intel Core i3-370M ThinkPad T410i they are also priced lower than previous models and represent outstanding value. The ThinkPad T410 is the only 14″ notebook to consider for discerning business users. [...]

  52. Michael French on October 2nd, 2010 12:31 pm

    The Lenovo T410s specs look great. It does appear that this model is not much smaller than the T410 according the specs I see. Am I correct? How much smaller is the T410s than the T410? Also, reviews that I’ve seen think that the display screen is only average. Does anyone who has purchased the T410 also have that opinion? I’m looking for a great, clear screen–Sony Vaio Z series apparently beats Lenovo T series. Can someone comment on this? Thanks!

  53. Ian Orford on October 4th, 2010 4:00 pm

    Hi Micheal, it depends what your looking for in a screen. The ThinkPad T410s has a great screen for ‘work’ applications but don’t expect it to be the best screen in the world for multi media, thats not what its designed for. As for dimensions, where you’ll notice the big difference with the T410s is in the weight at 3.9 lbs as against 5 lbs for the ThinkPad T410. And as for the Vaio Z Series, yes the screen is good, but its also $800 more expensive the last time I looked! Cheers, Ian

  54. Steve on October 5th, 2010 12:32 pm

    I have had the T410s for several months now. I like it in general — fast, rugged, light. But the screen is awful. I wasn’t expecting the best screen in the world, but this LCD is worse than every other laptop or desktop LCD I’ve used in the last five years, at least. It’s fuzzy, the viewing angle is poor, the color is poor, and the contrast is poor. I have an old IBM T43 that has a much better LCD than the T410s. I have a $350 samsung netbook with a MUCH nicer screen (albeit small). Sure it’s for business use, but a $1600 notebook should not have a $14 LCD panel.

  55. Steve on October 5th, 2010 1:00 pm

    One comment on the SSD. I got the 128GB SSD option in the T410s, and I would definitely recommend going with the cheapest HDD you can get and then upgrading the SSD yourself. The SSD it comes with is not particularly speedy, and it’s a bit small. I’d recommend the Intel X25-M 160GB. I have one in a MacBook Pro, and with the same processor as the T410s, windows 7 is more snappy in a VM than it is on the Lenovo running natively! I can’t be sure this is the SSD vs. some other architectural difference, but I strongly suspect that it is. Also, the Intel SSD supports the “TRIM” command, which leads to less fragmentation and therefore better long-term performance (Windows 7 supports the “TRIM” command and will therefore benefit).

  56. 35% Off the ThinkPad T410! This Coupon Code Delivers | www.thinkpadtoday.com on October 23rd, 2010 12:47 am

    [...] you need more time to decided?  Let our ThinkPad T410 Review help you decide if it is right for [...]

  57. Save an Unheard-of $758 with the ThinkPad T410s Coupon Code | www.thinkpadtoday.com on October 23rd, 2010 1:07 am

    [...] ThinkPad T410s Review is here to guide you to the right [...]

  58. Howard on November 22nd, 2010 2:21 am

    T410 is a perfect mode for business pro.
    Its solid quality and good reputation let me fall in love with this mode without any hesitation.
    I used my laptop everyday,and it’s really wonderful.

  59. Ricardo on November 26th, 2010 1:58 pm

    I could not dissagree more about the T410s.
    The screen is awful. Very limited view angle, and non-homogeneous brightness. Don’t tell me this is because it is designed for business (!)
    The touchpad is not precise due to its small size.
    Battery life is less than half of what they promise (max 4 hours with main plus CD-ROM battery) at very low energy use. Ridiculous compared with other laptops
    Astonishingly ugly.
    The flash disk is simply too small.
    The one I have is from my company, so thanks God I did not spend my money on this, specially thinking that a computer like Mac Air costs considerably less, not to talk a bout professional Asus or Toshiba models.

  60. Ian Orford on November 29th, 2010 9:25 am

    Hey strong words Ricardo, completely inaccurate of course and we are glad to see that the most eminent technology mag of all time disagrees with you as well!

    ‘Lenovo’s Thoughtful ThinkPad Is a Near-Perfect Machine’

    http://www.wired.com/reviews/2010/09/pr_lenovo_t410

  61. Surinder on December 3rd, 2010 12:13 am

    hi guys, i have ThinkPad T410 and would like to know is there any way out i can have the video display on my TV set. I got a VGA to RC3 (Red, Blue, Gree) cable and tried to connect it to my TV set from the T410, but all i got was a black screen.

    While going through Grapics properties i got this: Monitor/TV settings are not supported. Was thinking if getting a video card would solve my problem or not.

    let me know if you have any suggestions.

  62. Ian Orford on December 3rd, 2010 8:37 am

    Do you have a VGA input on your TV Surinder? That should work OK

  63. Head to Head - ThinkPad T410s v Thinkpad X201, a Faceoff! | www.thinkpadtoday.com on December 23rd, 2010 11:13 am

    [...] ThinkPad T410s, however, is a “just right” laptop, bridging the gap between the higher end ThinkPad T510 and [...]

  64. If you are on version | Obscure View on December 29th, 2010 3:35 am

    [...] ? Customization Upgrade. If you need Great Plains Dexterity, Modifier/VBA, Continuum, eConnect. SQL Stored procs customization upgrade, you need to find MBS customization partner.thinkpad t410 coupon [...]

  65. Matthew Lescohier on March 15th, 2011 5:52 pm

    I hate this computer.

    Tons of quality problems: cheap plastic cracking, screens failing out of box, presentation director does not function properly.

    stay away!

Got something to say?





Bottom